Virginia 30HR Online Driver’s Education – Teens

$200.00$540.00

Enjoy the convenience of learning from home!

If you’re an adult over the age of 18, register for this course by clicking here.

  • Approved by the Virginia DOE
  • Includes driving lessons & driving test to get your license – Optional
    (At our local driving school)
  • Learn from anywhere and any device with internet
  • Guide for obtaining your learner permit and license
  • Animations, videos, and audio read-along features
  • Includes the 90-minute parent/teen program required for all Virginia students & parents

The program consists of at least 30 hours of instruction. It includes components about alcohol safety, drug abuse awareness, aggressive driving, distracted driving, pedestrian and bicycle safety, handicapped parking, fuel-efficient driving practices, motorcycle awareness and organ and tissue donation awareness as required by law.

After completing this online course you will be prompted to schedule your final Exam at our local driving school:
214 Lemon Drive Lynchburg, VA 24501

You will need to come into our school IN-PERSON to complete this course and take the final exam.

  • *Package

    Reset options

    *IMPORTANT* You will need to purchase driving lessons after you complete your online course. You can do this at our local school when you come in for your final exam, or at another school of your choosing after you complete the online course and pass your final exam. Behind-the-wheel lessons at Academy of Driving are $350 for teens and adults.

    This package includes everything you need to get your license. After you complete your online course and pass your final exam at our local driving center you will be eligible to schedule your drive times with us.

-
+

Specs

SKU: N/A Categories: , ,

Description

All aspiring drivers seeking a Virginia Driver’s License are required to complete a comprehensive 30-hour program. For teenagers under the age of 18 who have not yet enrolled in a 30-hour driver’s education program and have faced challenges, such as failing their Learner’s Permit written exam three times at their local DMV, can enroll in this course to receive certification for both the ability to retake their Learner’s Permit test at the DMV (for up to one year) and a Driver’s Education classroom completion certificate.

If you are under the age of 18, there are certain requirements you must fulfill in order to obtain a driver’s license in Virginia. Firstly, you must provide proof of successfully completing a state-approved driver education program (This Course). Additionally, you must hold a learner’s permit for at least nine months before you can be issued a driver’s license. Upon completion of the your online course, we will provide you with a certificate of completion.

For individuals between the ages of 15 years and six months to 18 years, the following steps must be followed to obtain a driver’s license:

Step 1:
Obtain a Learner’s Permit. To apply for a learner’s permit, you need to complete the Virginia DMV Driver’s License Application form (form DL 1P) and pay the necessary fees for both the permit and license. The application requires written consent from one parent or guardian, which can be done in advance or at the DMV. You will also need to pass a vision screening and a two-part knowledge exam, which tests your understanding of traffic signs, motor vehicle laws, and safe driving techniques.

We recommend applying for your permit after you complete Module 1 of the online course as it will prepare you for you knowledge exams.

The exam is available in English or Spanish and is conducted on a computer at your local DMV. Questions for the exam are based on information from the Virginia Driver Manual. If you fail the knowledge test, you may retake it after 15 days. You can attempt to pass the permit exam 3 times in total. IF you fail it 3 times, you will then need to take an 8 hour Virginia Driver’s Manual Course (aka 3X Fail). Additionally, you must provide proof of your social security number if you have one, as well as an original identification document containing your complete name and date of birth, such as a birth certificate. Proof of residency is also required, and if you’re under 18, your parent or legal guardian can certify your Virginia residency by appearing in person with you at the DMV and providing their identification and proof of Virginia residency.

During this process, the DMV will capture a digitized photo, collect organ donor information, and request payment for the learner’s permit and driver’s license (approximately $15 – subject to change).

MILITARY FAMILIES If you are part of a military family and possess a valid out-of-state license, obtaining a Virginia license is not mandatory. However, in addition to the required documents mentioned above, you must include a cover letter explaining your military family status and provide information about your current state license when submitting the packet to the main DMV office in Richmond. It is important not to take these forms or the letter to a local DMV office, as they do not have the authority to make exceptions. Processing time for the application is typically one to three weeks.

Step 2:
Enroll in  and complete your online course, and then your behind-the-wheel driving. After you complete your online course you will be prompted to schedule your final exam at our local driving school. Upon passing the final exam, you will then be eligible to schedule your behind-the-wheel driving with a certified instructor.

All students under 18, along with a parent or guardian, must also complete an additional 90-minute driver education component as part of the in-classroom portion of the driver education curriculum. This 90 minute program is included in the online course.

Step 3:
Complete behind the wheel training and driving hours.

This course can be purchased as a package that includes your behind-the-wheel driving hours with a certified driving instructor. After completing your final exam, you will be eligible to schedule your drive times with The Academy of Driving.

If you purchase the Online Classroom Only, you will need to pay for your driving lessons separately at a later date.

You will take the official driving test with Academy Driving after completing your driving hours and will be issued a temporary license on the spot.

Step 4:

Once the road skills test is successfully completed, the DMV will mail the permanent driver’s license to you.

For DMV-related information, you can call 866-368-5436 or visit the DMV website.

Requirements: You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to take the online driver education course. This course is also open to adults ages 18 and older. All individuals who elect to take the classroom component of the driver’s education course online must take the online course through a DMV licensed driver training school. Home-schooled students are exempt from this requirement. In order to benefit from the course, you must be able to work independently and be comfortable with using a computer.

For any questions, contact Academy Driving at 434-582-1696. Academy Driving is also committed to maintaining a positive standing relationship with DMV and for any additional questions or concerns about this course, call our the DMV toll-free number: 1-877-885-5790.

DISCLAIMER:
Approval of correspondence courses by the Superintendent of Public Instruction is not an endorsement of the educational or operational philosophy of the school. The approval of the courses is also not intended as an endorsement of the quality of the courses nor is it a conclusion that they are appropriate to meet the educational needs of the student. The Superintendent of Public Instruction assumes no liability for damages or financial loss to parents using any of the courses listed above.

Additional information

Package

Complete with driving lessons, Online classroom only